A brief history

Traumatology, Orthopedics and Campaign Surgery Department was founded on september 1, 1962.  First 3 years was led by the Professor N. Gladârevski, then in 1965-1968 by the Professor Nicolae Testemiţanu. For 23 years, from 1968 to 1991, the department has been under the leadership of the Professor S. Stamatin.

In 1986 was founded the department of Traumatology, Campaign Surgery and Medical Disaster of faculty for training doctors, chief of department being named Professor M. Corlăteanu, who has been leading until 1999.

In 1990 was founded the deparment of Orthopaedics and Traumatology for training doctors, led by  correspondent member of the MSA, Professor V. Beţişor until 2005.

In years 1991-1998 the chief of Traumatology, Orthopaedics and Surgery Campaign deparment has been the Professor I. Marin, and in 1998-2012 the Professor F. Gornea.

In 2005, with changes in the State Medical and Pharmaceutical University “Nicolae Testemiţanu”, the departments are unified into one – “Traumatology, Orthopaedics and Surgery Campaign”, which in 2010 is named “Orthopaedics and Traumatology” department.

In 2011, in the department, are formed five university clinics based at IMSP SCTO, CNŞPMU and CREPOR, order by Public Health of Republic of Moldova, clinical directors were appointed university professors PhD: F. Gornea, Gh. Croitor, N. Caproş, A. Taran, Gr. Verega.

From 01.10.2012, the chief of Orthopaedics and Traumatology Department is led by Professor N. Caproş.

Over the years, in the department has been activated excellent orthopedic-trauma doctors and renowned scientists, who had an essential role in the founding of orthopedic trauma service in Republic of Moldova, becoming notorious personalities in the country and abroad: Professor N. Testemiţanu, Professor S. Stamatin, Professor I. Marin, Professor Larisa Iacunin, correspondent member of the MSA, Professor V. Beţişor , Professor F. Gornea, Professor S. Pîslaru, Professor P. Moroz, Professor V. Remizov, Associate Professor P. Pulbere, Associate Professor C. Cozub, Associate Professor A. Manea, Associate Professor A. Moraru, Associate Professor P. Ţapu, etc.